Personal Laws

Since the people of India belong to different religions and faiths, they are governed by different sets of Personal laws with regards to family affairs, i.e., marriage, divorce, succession, etc. Laws relating to marriage and/or divorce have been codified in different enactments. Some of these are:

  • The Hindu Succession Act, 1956
  • The Special Marriage Act, 1954
  • The Hindu Marriage Act, 1955
  • The Foreign Marriage Act, 1969
  • The Hindu Minority and Guardianship Act, 1956
  • The Muslim Personal Law (Shariat) Application Act, 1937
  • The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Divorce) Act, 1986
  • The Hindu Adoption and Maintenance Act, 1956
  • The Wakf Act, 1995 and the Wakf (Amendment) ACT, 2013

.At Bonum Lex, we firmly believe that empathy and a deep understanding of client issues in family and social matters is the key to rendering satisfactory legal assistance.